16402011_401439506857543_1731274859_n“My biggest struggle I’d say would be financial. I own a small business, so I have cash flow issues. I started the business to get more control over what I wanted to do and how I wanted to do it instead of being dictated by someone else – how I work and schedule my time. I’ve had bosses who did things in a way I didn’t like, and just having the freedom to do things your way is nice. A big part of it boils down to treatment as well; I’ve been treated poorly by bosses in the past, so when I hire employees I make sure to treat them well.

Starting up a business, a lot of it allows me to do more of the things I wanted to do. Otherwise I’d just get stuck climbing the ladder to a certain point. But I started it under almost no capital; I moved in with my brother at that point, and it’s still difficult, but I keep going.

The business is construction. I think I’ve always been into individual art – I used to draw a lot when I was younger – but what really inspired me was growing up with it; my dad was an architect, so he used to show me how to design things. He actually died this year, and after that is when I started the business. We were real close. I’ve been very fortunate to have him as a father; he taught me how to design, he taught me how to draft, which has opened a lot of doors for me and encouraged me to become successful at what he taught me.”

Leave a Reply

